Home » Life with MS » A pin and three needles

A pin and three needles

I can’t feel my finger. But the sun is shining and life is good. What a difference a bit of sunshine (vitamin D?) makes. A few months ago I was being bothered by periods of anxiety which I couldn’t quite pin down. Was it due to work (stressful and unpredictable and occasionally high pressure but no more so than I had anticipated;) the children (one has been diagnosed with a painful but hopefully resolving condition which has limited her usual activity, the other is showing signs of true Minecraft addiction which has required an “intervention;”) the day to day of life juggling long hours, a house, a family, being a good friend/sister/wife/mother? I couldn’t figure it out and despite dipping a toe in the pool of mindfulness (well, I bought one of those colouring books and did a jigsaw) it seemed to be getting worse. I could add hyperventilating in the bath terrified of my own mortality to my list of things to fill my time.

And then came an MS relapse … and oddly I felt better.

I haven’t had a relapse of my condition for over 18 months. The drugs are working. I have occasional periods where I am hit by the wall of fatigue, I get a run of sensory changes or my legs need a little help to move me around but I hadn’t been knocked off my feet. And I think the lack of relapse was worrying me. A small part of me was “worried” the doctors had made a mistake. What if I had made all this fuss, worried my family and even got a blue badge and there was nothing actually wrong with me? This probably sounds ridiculous but maybe there are some that can understand the anxiety of having possibly just got it wrong.

And then there was the genuine anxiety about what the next relapse would be like? It was long-overdue and maybe that meant it was going to be really really bad when it came. What if I lost the vision in both eyes? What if I couldn’t drive? What if I didn’t recover? The longer I was well the more worried I was getting about how unwell I might end up being. Not that I really acknowledged any of this. Maybe if I had opened the felt tips and started the colouring I would have got this insight but as it was I simply kept on going, burning the candle at both ends and wondering why I had suddenly become unable to cope properly.

And now the relapse has been and largely gone. My vision was mildly affected in one eye and the stick came back out. The migraines have been really bad this time but the fatigue has been better. I took one day off work and resisted hospital admission for IV steroids. My daughter wrote about my MS for the first time and it was reassuringly full of 9 year old self-obsession about what her friends might think rather than any concern about my health. She generously wrote that she was going to try and “put up” with me using my stick.

She didn’t have to put up with it for long. It’s folded away again now but while it was still in action I responded with characteristic mesaure and calm –  I entered myself into the local half marathon in the autumn. If you have read the blog before you’ll remember my vow to never, ever run. So my intention was to walk around and if I was still ill I would do it with my sticks and raise some money and awareness for the MS society. Then I realised how long that would take and that the only people left at the finish would be the council street sweepers so I have tested the recovering legs by doing the couch to 5k plan. And, annoyingly, the stories of exercise helping relieve symptoms is not actually a lie made up by gym-freaks.

There was a link on an MS group on facebook this week about an MS “sufferer” being “brave” by completing some feat of physical endurance. It garnered mixed responses from those who felt it gave a false impression of life for most people with MS, to those who felt it was important in showing that many people with MS are living a normal life and some are doing extraordinary things. I know my MS is not “normal” and that I am not representative of many, with my good response to the drugs and mild relapses so far, but I do think it’s important for those newly diagnosed to read about those who who are doing OK as well as those who are properly battling. Because it’s a real waste of life to be held captive by anxiety of what might be to come and what residual effects may be left. Especially if what you end up being left with is one numb finger and a pin and three needles bothering one hand.

Leave a Reply

